Proper Care of Vinyl Records

ShakaCthulu

• Members

I love rescuing vinyl albums that are in good condition from yard sales, thrift stores, etc. Some of them have alot of grime and dust though, and I'm pretty new to the vinyl game, though i love the sound quality.

I've seen conflicting info, some say use distilled water and isopropyl alcohol, others say a mild detergent like Dial, others say keep isopropyl alcohol as far away from your records as possible...which makes sense, because I thought isopropyl alcohol dries things like plastic, vinyl, etc out so that they crack and become brittle.

If anyone has some solid links to resources that won't lead me astry, I'd be much obliged. I don't want to damage what could be the last record of (x) artist in the world.

• Members

Tepid distilled water is probably the safest thing you can use. You can use a soft bristle brush made for LPs to help clean them and you must be careful to follow the grooves, never going across them. If you can't find LP specific brushes just about any good quality soft brush will work in a pinch.

For stuborn stuff you can dilute the isopropyl alcohol, 50/50, with distilled water, then rinse well with distilled water. With that dilution and the short time the alcohol is on the LP isn't going to affect the vinyl. You can also use a mild soap solution and there are some for babies that are ok.

Anyway, caring for LPs has, in some cases, become pretty much a science but it doesn't need to.

I generally just use distilled water if the LP needs more than a light brushing.

Yes, I still have a decent turntable and listen to records now and again. :o

Type "cleaning LPs" into a google or other search engine's window and you'll find lots of information.

• Members

And none of my vinyl has ever cracked from drying out.Nor do they look like they ever will in my lifetime. Stay away from straight alcohlol.