Are you a "loops" kinda guy? Why or why not?

• Members

So often over the past ten years, I've been telling myself I need to learn how to make music by using repeating loops.

I still really don't know how, and am not especially impelled to learn, frankly. The whole idea, in fact, leaves me cold, because it kinda feels like a "retrogression" to me in terms of the way I was taught to make music... But hey, everybody's doin' it, right?

SONAR 6 now has many great new tools for creating loop-based songs. maybe I should buckle down and learn.

What say you? are you a "loops" kinda guy?

• Members

I've done some looped stuff and I see it as an ancient way of creating music really, very tribal. Its music that's very in the moment and not going anywhere, very meditative. But that can also be achieved without loops in a wandering way by continuous improvising.

But I'm also a modern guy and I like euro structure too, being an ambient artist I like combining the two in various degrees.

Steve

• Members

I know a lot of people are really really opposed to loops, but if you use them in an interesting manner, something that's continually evolving and swirling, it can be quite mesmerizing. I'm usually (although not always) bored by someone taking a two-bar drum loop and looping it over and over ad nauseum.

I also like looping in the sense that, say, a guitarist uses one of those loop things like JamMan or Boomerang or whatever, but I don't suppose you're talking about that.

I'm mentioning this because I think sometimes people have a knee-jerk reaction: loops = bad. And I know that there are people out there making compelling music with loops. You just have to be imaginative. Raymar has a good post about loops above.

• Members

I think sometimes people have a knee-jerk reaction: loops = bad. And I know that there are people out there making compelling music with loops. You just have to be imaginative. Raymar has a good post about loops above.