Eulogy for an Old and Trusted Friend

• Members

Eulogy for an Old and Trusted Friend

Today I mourn the passing of an old and trusted friend. When I was 16 years old, about 12 years ago, I purchased a barely-used Tascam 424 Portastudio cassette-based 4-track recorder to record the horrible songs I was writing with my newly acquired guitar 'skills'. Many many cassettes did I go through, using them until they sounded so bad I had to replace them. I think I've still got some of those around, more's the pity. And unfortunately, I know there's at least a couple copies still out there of the compilation of my songs I gave out to some friends when I graduated high school and moved to Seattle. If you, or someone you know has one of those, please burn it.

It wasn't long before I and my trusty Tascam were enlisted to help with recording the band some of my friends were in. The guy I bought it from also threw in two books on home recording, my first introdution to the world of audio engineering. I bought a few mics, and with a collection of other mics and mixers and doohickeys and whatchamacalits from various people, we got at least mildly proficient at ghetto-style garage band recording. I started using a ski bag to carry my equipment: the lower compartment (intended for ski boots) housed the Tascam and the recording books, while the upper compartment housed the array of mics and cords and adapters and random {censored} that accumulated. Eventually I had enough things in that bag that if something was needed, I could whip it out in a second, earning me the nickname Felix, for I could pull anything out of my bag of tricks (apparently Felix the Cat had a bag of tricks, I can't speak to the truthfulness of this statement myself.)