Using powered computer speakers to replace Auratones?

billwolfer

• Members

I'm about to incorporate a Mackie Big Knob into my home studio setup, allowing me to hook up the Adam A7s and Yamaha NS10Ms. Normally, I like to mix with three sets of speakers, and I want to avoid using a speaker switch on the amp running the NS10s to switch to some crappy Radio Shack speakers (Minimus 7 I think), that I've been using instead of Auratones for the last ten years or so.

So, it occured to me to get some cheapo computer speakers to give me the small speaker reference. Anyone done this? Any recommendations for active computer speakers that can simulate the Auratone sound? I've got a pair of Edirol MA-10As on my non-studio computer, but they sound too good for this purpose, if you know what I mean.

• Members

I second the idea of Avantones. I power mine with an old cheap used hifi amp. What I like about them is that they sound like they are in the same ballpark as my Adam A7s, the middle seems pretty flat, they're just lacking in the high and low ends.

Computer speakers seem to be all over the place tone-wise and with their cheap plastic exteriors probably have frequency responses that are far from flat.

• Members

I'm of two minds, here. On the one hand, aj has a real point -- on the other HT has maybe an even better point -- most computer speakers are not just limited in frequency range -- they're wildly uneven. Although, as I remember Auratones -- and it has literally been at least 18 or 19 years, I think -- they impressed me as having something of a comb-filter effect to their mid and lower/treble range, bespeaking a certain sort of irregularity.