Good Pair of headphones?

echoshock

• Members

So I broke my headphones that I've been using for probably 5 years. Since I haven't kept up with all of the advances in headphone technology during that time, can ya'll recommend a nice pair of isolating headphones? Something budget oriented. hmm, is the $150 range reasonable for decent quality?

Thanks!

• Members

Best headphones I've ever used are the Sennheiser HD280's. They can be had for $70-90

http://www.amazon.com/Sennheiser-HD-280-Pro-Professional/dp/B000065BPB/ref=pd_bbs_sr_1?ie=UTF8&s=electronics&qid=1196109116&sr=1-1

Good sound isolation, great sounding. They're not bass heavy, so if you like a lot of bass you might be dissapointed, but they are pretty natural sounding.

I also have a set of in-ears that I use when I travel. Great for noisy places as they cut almost all background noise. I use the Etymotic ER6i's, which are relatively cheap for in-ears.

http://www.amazon.com/exec/obidos/ASIN/B000BQSGMM/km-20/ref=nosim

Also, if you're looking for a good headphone resource, I suggest:

http://www.head-fi.org/

Can ya'll recommend a nice pair of isolating headphones?

If isolation is what you seek, I highly recommend these. They're usually sold via the usual online dealers at under $90 per pair, and they work great for isolating the performer from the sounds in the room, and for keeping click tracks in the can mix from bleeding into the microphones.

• Members

I settled on AKG K240DF after trying a few different sets. They have a relatively flat response for headphones. Unfortunately they are up to $200 now- they cost about $150 when I bought several sets a couple of years back... maybe because of the sinking USD.

• Members

I would not recommend Sennheiser 280's, mine fell apart, too much plastic to break off. They still sound good though, and the ear cushins haven't worn a bit in three years, but up from there broken plastic.