So now my health insurance company is dictating what I can tell my doctor

bbach

• Members

Warning - rant happening - I went in for my general physical yesterday. Currently my back is in great pain. So, I began to visit with my physician about it. The whole thing turns into a lesson from him on filing health insurance claims. If he turns the "preventive" visit into a "problem" visit, or one problem into another, then it gets coded differently and the insurance companies will pay differently, possibly not paying for all the blood work and tests etc.

So now I have to restrict my doctor visits to one problem at a time. Thank you Blue Cross Blue Shield. I love multiple doctor visits.

End rant.

• Members

I do billing and coding for a livingin Illinois. BC/BS may pay differently in your state.

Many insurance companies are getting to the point that they won't pay for an exam and other services on the smae day, however, if he were billing out an exam charge, there are many different "levels" of exam charges that are based on the intensity of the exam. He should have been able to examine your back and just use one of the upcharged exam codes. It sounds to me like his office may not have a handle on billling and coding. The way that we code has been set up by the feds (Medicare)...it works, but is a very confusing system to many.

• Members

Its clear that the well being of the patients is barely a factor as these cost-conscious policies proliferate. IMHO in the context of an ineffieicnt system such tradeoffs sometimes border on criminality. Common sense is nowhere to be found.

FYI- I spent a good portion of my retirement savings to get me daugher well after a sever head injury several years ago. We ended up the the grey area between a physical ailment and a psychological one ( that is not well coverd by insurance). I could go on for hours about the insanity that the current system imposes on us all.