Guitars and Humility

• Members

I attend guitar player annonymous. "I am bbach. I am a guitar player and I am really not very good". (Please respond with "Hi bbach, welcome to the meeting")

I keep trying though. I'm determined to feel really comfortable with these damn guitars I own if it kills me. I'm currently taking lessons again and I sit down every day and practice. My family thinks I'm getting pretty good, but I know better and I'm not being modest. My soloing sounds too simple and uninspired. What I hear in my head I can't put into my fingers like I want to. If I were to golf this bad I'd break my clubs. Oh, I forgot, I already broke them.

• Members

I've been strumming the six string for 32 years.

And, uh...

I'm actually pretty damn good at it. Sorry guys. Keep practicing, though!
:lol:

Hahaha. :mad:

Actually, I'm fairly satisfied with certain aspects of my playing. Other abilities I'm still working on. There's a certain place where you can be satisfied with what you can do, but still reach for more. It's not really for me to decide, but from a detached point of view I feel like there's some good stuff in what I play. :cool:

• Members

My technical skills were so much better when I was younger. I can not commit to the practice regimen that I once had. I'm still happy with my technique, but it shames me that I've gone backwards.

Yeah, I used to have a lot of chops, but in comparison I wasn't playing meaningful, thoughtful, evocative stuff.

OTOH, I know that when I've made myself get in the woodshed for specific projects, I can build those chops back up pretty quickly.

• Members

Nothing like 6 strings to keep one humble. Been playing since I was 13 and honestly cannot say I`ve improved all that much.

The funny thing is that when I saw the 'guitars and humidity' thread, I thought it said 'guitars and humility.'

I was really expecting something about shredding/chops/etc and growing past that kind of juvenilia.

• Members