For all you keyboard players...

chevybusa

• Members

Hi guys. I'm posting this here because I gave up on KSS a while ago, it's so sad, it has the potential to be such a great resource but for the most part it's just a bunch of immature idiots posting off-topic nonsense, even within on-topic threads...I feel so bad for Gus and Paolo for having to moderate that reptile zoo...Anyways, my question is about breath controllers. I have zero experience with them, and I just got a Yamaha BC3a. I can't figure out the gain and offset controls for the life of me...I'm using it with my S80 and Reason 4.0, and especially in Reason, no matter what I set for gain and offset it's either way to sensitive or doesn't work at all. Any help or advice would be greatly appreciated! Thanks a lot.

• Members

Unfortunately, I don't know anything about breath controllers even though I play keyboards. I've never used one, much less set one up.

For information on keyboards, I would strongly recommend Dave Bryce's forum on musicplayer, Keyboard Corner. Dave is a great guy and a great moderator, and it's a very friendly forum with a lot of keyboard enthusiasts who seriously know their stuff.

• Members

It's been a while since I used one but from what I remember ...

If it is too sensitive you normally need to cut back the gain. After doing that you need to dial in your sweet spot using offset. This is where normal blowing will give you the value/tone you want from your patches. After that, if you cannot get a good growl when you blow hard then you need to adjust the gain back up, then adjust your sweet spot again,

• Members

Thanks for all your replies!!!

UstadKhanAli, once again thank you so much for hooking me up, I'm definitely gonna check out that forum ASAP!!!