BEST SONG EVER

John Sayers

• Members

I didn't know Guy Clark was Aussie.

:D

I was just listening to his "Funny Bone" which I don't think I'd ever heard before. He's some kinda writer. I really like Guy Clark. I mean, his songs and melodies don't fall far from the tree -- but what a great tree.

• Members

maybe if you don't sing.

http://www.ted.com/talks/kaki_king_rocks_out_to_pink_noise.html

As a guitarist, my approach to the appreciation of advanced technique players is to close my eyes and listen. If the music doesn't light me up on its own, all the flash and inversion of expectation (the latter of which is pretty well expended at this point) isn't going to move me, although I can still marvel at the dexterity.

When King moves to conventional technique as she does after the intro workout (as far as I watched), she appears to lapse into a rather limited, rhythm guitar sort of approach that quickly becomes uninvolving.

That's not to say that those who find her music enjoyable aren't engaged in a perfectly reasonable aesthetic appreciation. But when I read official sidebar ink like "amazing virtuosity" I guess I was expecting something more sophisticated. But, of course, not every piece can or should be a showpiece of virtuosity for its own sake -- that's for sure. (As my first paragraph comment probably indicates. And, hey, she's certainly more impressive than I am, that's for sure! :D )

Unlike some of those posting in the comments section on the TED page, I thought her little preamble about the implications of infinity and infinitesimality [sorry about that coinage, didn't get much sleep last night and don't want to waste the next 10 minutes searching for the proper word :D ] were actually kind of charming and showed a self-deprecating humor I wish more of those annointed by others as "Guitar Gods" would show.

She seems like a charming person.