Pro tools, constantly breaking up with apogee ????

chrisgil

• Members

im using an apogee symphony with an apogee 64 card.

When I go lower than 512 buffer size, because the latency is unworkable otherwise, the audio crackles and breaks up constantly,

making sounds like the sample rates out of sync etc..

Could someone run me through a load of settings to try and get it sorted.

Ive just got a whole new apogee system and the problems are still there

Im on an 8 core, 16gb ram mac pro, so that should be fine.

Im new to pro tools so please explain as simply as possible

thanks all

ps its the latest version of pro tools

• Members

Is it to do with pro tools still being 32bit, therfore only able to use 4gb ram ( i think it is) ?

It cant be the symphony, and it shouldnt be my machine, unless theres something wrong with it.

Ive had a lot of issues with gear f(*king up. Just sent the SSD drive back to be replaced because that was knackered.

• Members

I don't know what the issue would be either. I do use a Mac Pro 1,1 (probably a four year old Mac) with Pro Tools 9, but with an Apogee Rosetta 800, and can typically get about 128 samples, sometimes 64 if I don't have too many plugins. And if I don't get it, it doesn't crackle; it just simply stops and gives me the typical protesting dialogue box.

• Members

Consider testing the hard drive transfer rate. My old PC was having this problem; it was spooling data so slow that the audio would break up. (Since it was pretty old, I solved the problem with a new PC.)

This one works for Windows; I confess I'm not familiar with the Apogee system... It is a stand-alone DAW, or running on a Mac or what?

Here is some more info.

• Members

What OS are you running?

Welcome to Apogee Electronics Support

IMPORTANT MESSAGE Regarding Mac OS X Lion - Wait to update if your Apogee product is not compatible