What is she playing?

thankyou

• Members

It's a lot like an octo, from Central and South America.

(I'm surprised it's so hard to find info in English on the octo, which is not uncommon in cumbias and other Central and South American musics. I even saw mention of the octo as a 'new' instrument in Wikipedia -- but it's most certainly not. I'm far from deeply enmeshed in that music, but I've been hearing about octos for a couple decades.)

• CMS Author

Given who it is, I suspect that it's a hybrid that doesn't have a name unless she gave it one, concocted from a contemporary mandola or octave mandolin design (which might have started out life as a cittern or bouzouki as used in modern Irish bands), strung with a couple of courses in octaves.

• CMS Author

Fletcher Brock Octave mando......except, it looks nothing like one. .

Looks like this one: PA276245.jpg except in sunburst rather than clear finish. Or do you mean it doesn't look like any octave mandolin you've ever seen? I haven't seen an arch top f-hole guitar body style octave mandolin either, though Gibson did make the model K5 mandocello. It was an L5 guitar body with a cello neck.

Anyway, on the Artist page of Brock's web site, he lists Sarah Jarosz as playing an octave mandolin. So I guess that's at least his official name for it.

• Members

LOL....Mike I have been a guitarist, musician, session player....yada yada yada.......for weeeell over 30 years :cry:.....and I had never even heard of an octave Mandolin! And if I did, it never registered, That is sad! The name mandocello rings some bells somewhere in the fog of my recollection.

I must say though, it is a beaut to look at and sounds really cool.

I just meant that it looks nothing like a mandolin. It looks like a jazz archtop and I dig the shape of the headstock big time. What makes it mando is the tuning. This thing sounds great...I'd love one in the studio.....not at $4000 though.