Hey! Smart Web dudes! A question?

Lee Knight

• Moderators

How does this work?

http://balihoo.com/

I know how to do the animation in Adobe After Effects. Then apparently I can import that to Adobe Flash (which I know nothing about but I guess soon will). So... is that what's happening here? Flash for web? I don't know anything about web either.

But I've been asked to try and implement some of my very simplistic yet apparently popular (among our brass) animation and motion graphic style to one of our marketing products web portal. So...

...Flash... right? And if so, what resolution size should I be rendering to. My inexperience is showing here. Hey, I'm a musician and audio dude. :) So what size graphic should that be to recreate the graphic you see in the Balihoo site?

Thanks for any help you can provide this fish out of water.

• Moderators

Definitely Flash -
my company home page
has almost the same widget. I can ask our web guy how he did it if you want.

Yes please! Yeah, it looks the same. I right-clicked (duh) and it showed it as Flash.

I just learned that I can create in After Effects, which I'm comfortable with and has more extensive text/motion graphic capability than Flash. Then import into Flash. At which point... I suppose the web stud takes the Flash render (.swf? .flv? .xlf?) and does his thing. So what size canvas/project do I work in for eventual web/html delivery? I'm lost.

• Members

Yes please! Yeah, it looks the same. I right-clicked (duh) and it showed it as Flash.

I just learned that I can create in After Effects, which I'm comfortable with and has more extensive text/motion graphic capability than Flash. Then import into Flash. At which point... I suppose the web stud takes the Flash render (.swf? .flv?) and does his thing. So what size canvas/project do I work in for eventual web/html delivery? I'm lost.

I sent him an email, but he's a contractor, so it might be a while :o

• Members