Help! My snare wires won't tighten...

geek_usa

• Members

Okay, I'm a new drummer. I just bought this drum set and it's a yamaha YD with a PDP snare upgrade. (yes that's right, the rest is yamaha, the snare is PDP).

Well I'm tuning my toms, got everything ready to go. Now the snare. I pop the mechanism on, tighten the lugs and horray, I've got the snare wires chillin' beautifully about 1/8" below the head. So I go to turn the snare on, and it's still dead.

I'm not sure if my strainer is broken or not, it seems to tighten the wires but i've messed with it, made the big screw loose, in between, and tight as it can go. it still sounds dead and the snares won't snap.

what do i do? :cry:

thanks

• Members

Are the metal ends of the snare on the head itself, or laying on the edge of the head and bearing edge?

the ends of the snares are laying on the bottom head.

there's no way i can really tighten it any more...is there anything i can do?

• Members

There are two adjustments (three points)

1) The knob on the throw-off. Use this for "fine" adjustments

2) The snare holder - usually a plastic strap or sometimes a pair of strings, usually either held in place by a clamp of sorts (look for the drumkey lugs) or tied on (in the case of my old ludwig)

Tighten it with #2 about as good as you can get without straining too much, with #1 set about midpoint, maybe a little lower, with the snare throw-off set to "snare" and not "no-snare".

Once it's in place, tighten up the knob, until it sounds good.

• Members