Tom tom ring

Jaden

• Members

I am new to drumming but I noticed that my 10 inch tom has a tinny ring about it. Only just started. My kit is Gretcsh cat ash. The 10 tom kind of buzzes. It is mounted on the bass. The 12 inch beside it is fine as is the 8 on the other side. If I place my hand against the bottom head it stops the buzz. There are factory Gretsch heads on the drums. Yes I know - one step above Saran wrap but I don't want to replace them until I get better or damage them. What could be causing the buzz and how can I stop it?

I've checked around the 10 tom - there is nothing touching it or rubbing up against it. Help! Thanks.

• Members

There are multiple causes that could be affecting it, I'm assuming when you say it "rings" you mean it is resonating when you play another drum?

The bottom heads are called "resonant heads" and resonance is normal, but if it's overly "ringy" try tweaking the tuning a little, it will be responding to a particular frequency, again a lot of resonance is normal.

There are some rules with tuning, but it boils down to personal preference eg. resonant head sympathetic to batter(both heads tuned the same) or reso head slightly higher in pitch or lower....whatever floats your boat.

Heads detune, so play around with the heads giving the lugs small tweaks up or down dependent on the sound you like.

Give it a go, it's not a serious problem, and if you were playing with other musicians it would in all likely get lost in the mix.

Have fun.:wave:

• Members

Sympathetic buzzes can be real tricky sometimes. Don't trust your sense of directionality. One time I had a stand rattle I just couldn't locate. Checked EVERYthing. Nothing. Finally nailed it at the light fixture ABOVE the drums.

So listen in close proximity, tapping stuff - shells, lugs, hoops, stand connections any likely source. Be methodical and check your surroundings as well. You may find a lot of other rattles while you're at it.