What are some ways to make the best out of a cheap kit?

KevinTJH

• Members

I've got a fairly new Pearl Target kit. Haven't really done anything to it yet, other than "attempting" to tune it. One of my friends stuffed an old pillow inside my floor tom recently.

I'm a complete newbie to drums so I don't really know much, but I can definitely tell that my kit sounds like crap. What should I do to make the best out of it? New skins? New cymbals + high hat?

Any help would be really appreciated!

• Members

Pillow in the floor?! I hope you're referring to the kick/bass drum, otherwise I imagine it sounds deader than a bucket.

The number one way, quality heads and general knowledge of tuning(which you should research if you haven't yet). Pro cymbals and decently tuned heads can really rival any kit pending the drums aren't damaged. You can make most any drum sound good, cymbals on the other hand you'll need at least mid-level stuff to prevent people from cringing. Buy used, usually around half the price new. So much of sets are subjective though, enjoy finding the sounds you want to use.

• Members

Pillow in the floor?! I hope you're referring to the kick/bass drum, otherwise I imagine it sounds deader than a bucket.

The whole room is carpetted, does that help?

No, I'm referring to the floor tom. I know most people usually put pillows inside their bass drums, I have done anything to it yet.

The kit was purchased brand new and given to me (so I didn't spend a cent on it!).

Do you mind recommending a good set of cymbals and skins?

I read that good skins can make a whole lot of difference in tone, but I'd still like to confirm that.

Thanks for your response!

• Members

"Good heads" won't make a lick of difference if you can't tune.

1) Learn to tune.

2) Once you know how to make a drum sound like it SHOULD, you'll have a better idea of how much improvement you MAY gain by using decent heads.