ALESIS 3630

GavinScott

• Members

Hey just bought an Alesis 3630 compression unit for my bass rig. Was wondering if I should run it in my effects loop or right after my bass guitar. Also, what are some reccomended settings for this thing, i'm new to compression so im not to familiar with the controls.

My Rig:

1984 Fender Japanese P Bass

Furman Power Conditioner

Korg Racktuner

BBE 362 Sonic Maximizer

Peavey Pro Bass 500 Head

Ampeg 8x10

• Members

try both configurations and use the one you like better. Use the attack control to vary the sharpness of attack. Long attack gives little mellower sound to attack, short attack keeps it as the instruments norm or makes it slighter crisper. Comps are most used to even out the volume or to increase sustain. I prefer comp/sustainer as first effect before anything else. Is one of the more subtle but useful effects for pro sound.

Experiment with yours and hear how it effects your sound, esp the perceived sustain and start of note (attack).

• Members

Hey thanks for all the responses they were all very helpful. I decided to get a compression unit because i use different techniques, slapping, tapping, and pizzicato so i thought this would help with volume jumps. If the 3630 isn't a good compression unit for bass, what do you recommend? And im not sure what you mean by daisy chaining the two channels together?

• Members

Hey thanks for all the responses they were all very helpful. I decided to get a compression unit because i use different techniques, slapping, tapping, and pizzicato so i thought this would help with volume jumps. If the 3630 isn't a good compression unit for bass, what do you recommend? And im not sure what you mean by daisy chaining the two channels together?