Plucking - thought I was doing it right - not so sure anymore

adamjohnson

• Members

Hi there,

I started playing a month ago. Went for one lesson just to get it going. I've been looking at videos and tips online.

This teacher dude showed me to move and rest the thumb up and down.

i.e. Rest my thumb on the pickup to pluck the E-string, and then move it to rest on the E-string to play the A-string.

And then move and rest the thumb on the A-string to play the D-string, and then move and rest on the D-string to play the G-string.

Most videos that I see shows a floating thumb or a thumb that stays rested on the pickup while the plucking fingers move up and down all the strings.

Now I am not so sure. I feel comfortable with my teacher's style because it seems to keep my hand more "closed" as opposed to locking the thumb on the pickup and stretching the plucking fingers all the way down.

Your input and advice would be greatly appreciated as always.

Thank you

read more: nhạc chuông không lời, https://freeringtonedownload.mobi/ringtone/rooster-dance-2-ringtone.html

• Moderators

There are different styles. They all seem to work, but some playing styles are better for some styles of music, I think. My advice would be for you to do one of two things. Either find the style that works for you and go with it, or else decide which playing style you want to use, then pursue that style.

More lessons wouldn't be a bad idea, either. I never had any, and spent a lot of time figuring things out that a teacher could have shown me quickly, and unlearning things I did wrong and then relearning. A good teacher could have set me straight from the start.

• Members

Issac nailed it. You have many different styles to accommodate different playing needs. I've acquired many over the years and may switch during a song depending on what is needed.

I'm sure the teacher is simply starting you off with one to get you going. Once you have that one nailed, you can move on to others.