Need help with Epiphone Thunderbird Pro IV bass preamp

fhoefler1

• Members

HI all,

I am new to Harmony Central and hope this is the right place to post about this....

I recently bought an Epiphone Thunderbird Pro IV and the preamp has gone bad. I bought a Seymour Duncan STC3a active preamp to replace it. Upon instillation I quickly realized that the main volume pot is "stacked" and subsequently to tall to fit in the electronics compartment of the bass. Furthermore, with all the pots in place, there is insufficient room for the preamp board itself. Does anybody have a recommendation for a replacement preamp for this particular bass? I have checked with Epiphone and they do not sell the part and could not recommend anything third party.

Thank you

• Members

Welcome. I'll give you my 2 cents worth.

I think the bass might work with one of these Pro Z preamps. http://www.audereaudio.com/Pro_Z.htm

I don't know if the configuration is exactly the same but its got a similar module pot arrangement.

It may fit in there but haven't actually worked on one of those newer Epi Thunderbirds before, just the older Passive Gibson version.

There is a post that talks about the preamp and the setup looks similar minus the connector. http://forum.gibson.com/index.php?/topic/62347-thunderbird-pro-wiring-diagram/

I'd likely contact Epiphone support and see if that one would work or whether they can sell you a new module. Otherwise you'd have to pay a dealer to do it. That connector should make it easy to replace. Repairing the old preamp is another option. Usually you just have wiring issues with the jack, battery or bad pots that cause them to fail. The preamp is usually pretty simple in design. Some preamps are sealed in epoxy however making it impossible to repair them if you have components on the board that are bad.