Thinking I blew it...

One_Dude

• Members

I have been playing bass for about 30 years; I am not one of the flashy players that plays a dozen notes when three will suffice, and I'm certainly not one of the best players. I have played bass in several bands and regularly at church, and consider myself to be a decent player. I also play guitar, mandolin, and a bit of dobro. These days my primary instrument is mandolin.

At a recent jam a long-time music friend commented on my mandolin playing and asked me if I would be interested in joining the group she plays with. I said yes and she said she was going to recommend me to their band leader. About two weeks later I heard from the band leader and he asked if I would like to sit-in with them on their next job in four days. However, he asked me to play bass rather than mandolin. I said yes since he was talking about two or three songs only. Turns out he wanted me to play songs I never heard before. I was able to download their CD from CD Baby and listen to the songs he identified as the ones he wanted me to play. One song was pretty straight forward and not a problem, but the other one has quite a complex chord progression, and there was no way that I could learn it from the CD in three days.

In the past I have turned down people who asked me to play bass with them if we could not have one or two full blown rehearsals. I asked for a practice session in this case and we agreed to meet early before the job and go through the songs. When I got to the venue, I learned that the band leader expected that I would have played along with the CD to completely learn the songs and the quick practice would just be to verify that.