Dumb question from a self-taught guitarist

phaeton

• Members

Hey folks,

I've picked up Hal Leonard's Bass Method Complete and I've been working through the examples on my bass guitar. Something this book is teaching is fretboard 'positions', i.e. first position, second position and so forth, along with using only 1st, 2nd, 4th fingers in these positions (1-2-4 system).

I'm coming from guitar and out of habit I use different fingering than what the book is calling for, and I move around the fretboard with no regard to 'positions'. I'm accomplishing the same thing and am playing cleanly, but am I setting myself up with bad habits by doing this? I'm self-taught on the guitar, so I don't know if positions/fingering arrangements on a bass is a real thing or if it is just how this book is trying to simplify things.

In other words, should I break my current habits and learn the position system and the fingering the book refers to, or does it matter?

Thanks.

This is the book: http://www.amazon.com/Leonard-Bass-Method-Easy---Use/dp/0793563836/ref=sr_1_1?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1423271180&sr=1-1&keywords=hal+leonard+bass+method+complete+edition

• Members

It's always quicker to move across the fingerboard than to move up and down the neck. I'm a self taught bassist, but starting on a fretless made me think about scales across the fingerboard. You make the change and your guitar playing will improve. On the other hand, I've seen a few hunt and pecker typists who were only about half as fast as the trained touch typists. That's probably fast enough to live with.

• Members

I've just started playing bass myself after 35+ years of guitar and I struggle as well with old habits.