Buzz Feiten Tuning System

Reugelith

• Members

I am a beginner so I will appreciate your help:

Can I remove the Buzz Feiten Tuning System from a Washburn guitar Parallaxe PXL10-WA, to install a roller bridge and another nut, without major modifications or damage in the nut slot or fingerboard?

• Members

I love the BF tuning system and wouldn't mess with it.

As a beginner you're going to be squeezing notes sharp all over the place anyway, so that's the weakest link in the intonation chain. Once you get that nailed you'll be in a position to make your own mind up about the BF tuning.

• Members
I love the BF tuning system and wouldn't mess with it.

As a beginner you're going to be squeezing notes sharp all over the place anyway, so that's the weakest link in the intonation chain. Once you get that nailed you'll be in a position to make your own mind up about the BF tuning.

This man speaks the truth. Listen to him.

• Members
I've replaced the nuts on two Washburn BF equipped guitars without any problems. The Buzz Feiten system has more to do with fret placement at the first fret than anything. As long as a replacement nut is properly aligned it shouldn't change anything.

If memory serves, the BF system requires the nut moved ahead to flatten the the first fret as well as intonation tweaks at the bridge. The nut is otherwise stock. If you simply replace the nut, the intonation will remain unaltered. Might be different now.

• Members

The fretboard is shortened to install the BF system. Going back to a normal nut and getting the guitar to play right isn't going to work out. You'll have all the notes in the first position playing flat.

A roller nut may work out OK because those too usually need the fretboard shortened to get the roller lined up where the inside edge of the nut used to be.